Scattered Book Reviews

The Game Book Review

The Game by Ken Dryden

Ken Dryden’s “The Game”
Genre: Sports, Non-Fiction, Autobiography
This is an enduring book about more than just hockey.  It’s a look inside an athlete, his team, his sport and his country. Measured as one of the greatest sports books ever Dryden’s The Game is about the game within the game.  The New York Times says it is “A book about Ken Dryden, about Quebec, about the rest of Canada, and most of all, a loving book about a special sport.”

The Game gave me insight into something I would never know about something I turly loved. It is very well written and I think any sports fan would consider “The Game” a page turner.

“Widely acknowledged as one of the best hockey books every written”  Order Online – The Game by Ken Dryden

Hypnotists Love Story Book Review

The Hypnotists Love Story

The Hypnotist’s Love Story by Liana Moriarty Genre: Women’s Fiction, Romance Our main character Ellen is well versed in relationships and the human psyche. She couldn’t be happier when she meets a wonderful guy, except the wonderful guy has a relentless ex-girlfrien stalker. Somehow the reader is pulled into the head of both the heart-broken stalker and also the inquisitive Ellen, who finds it oddly appealing. She would even like to meet the mystery woman, except that she already has…Quick moving and not too heavy.

Order Online – The Hypnotist’s Love Story

Ready Player One Book Review

Ready Player One

Ready Player One – by Jeff and Erynn Altabef Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopia, Young Adult, Fantasy It’s the future and not a great one. Teen Wade is somewhat addicted to a virtual world and studying the puzzles it contains and if there really is way to unlock it. He actually finds clue and puts himself in danger in the process. Player one had better be ready to win even if that means seeing his own non-virtual world. A cool read for teens!
Madison's Pick - Book Thief

Book Thief

The Book Thief – By Markus Zusak Genre: Fiction, Young-adult Fiction, Novel, History, Historical Fiction Liesel Meminger is a young girl living in Nazi Germany.  She survives the suffocating oppression of her surroundings by stealing and reading any book she can find.  This book is written from Death’s perspective, offering an interesting point of view of Nazi Germany. One of my all-time favorites!  ***** – Madison
Kat's Pick - Divergent

Divergent

Divergent Series – by Veronica Roth Genre: Science Fiction, Utopian and Dystopian Fiction, Young-adult Fiction This series of novels depicts a “Utopian” society.  People are placed into categories based on their personality traits.  Our protagonist, Beatrice has been placed into a category group known as “Divergent” and starts a revolt.  Fans of “Hunger Games” or “The Giver” should love this series. *****  Kat S.
Crumbles Pick - Dog Songs

Dog Songs

Paw
Ty - The Way of Kings

The Way of Kings

The Way of Kings – by Brandon Sanderson Genre: Fantasy, High Fantasy – Awesome world building – From the writer who was able to finish The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan almost seamlessly – Prolific writer so if you like him, you will have a ton of books to read!
Erynn Altabef - Wind Catcher Review

Wind Catcher

Wind Catcher – by Jeff and Erynn Altabef Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Thriller, Mystery This book follows a 15 year old girl named Juliet.  In her sleepy town in Arizona, a series of murders take place and she can’t help but worry that her grandfather is involved.  As Juliet and her friends investigate the murders, they uncover a secret society created hundreds of years ago to keep her safe.  As Juliet develops powers her whole world falls apart and she must find a way to embrace her new destiny. Great Read!  Suspensful and magical! ***** Erynn
Mallory - Dark Places Review

Dark Places

Coming Soon
Kim - The Mare Review

The Mare

Coming Soon
Deirdre's Pick - Brady vs Manning

Brady vs. Manning

Coming Soon!