Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros: A Riveting Dragon Tale

Artist Rendition of Fourth Wing

Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros: A Riveting Dragon Tale

Book Cover of Fourth Wing by Rebecca YarrosIntroduction

Overview of the Book and Author

“Fourth Wing” is the inaugural novel in the Empyrean series by Rebecca Yarros. It is about Violet Sorrengail and weaves a compelling narrative around this young cadet training to become a dragon rider amidst a harsh, competitive environment. Known for her romance novels, Yarros transitions seamlessly into the fantasy genre, embarking on a New York Times bestselling journey that mirrors her own experiences as a military spouse. The book was first published on April 5, 2023, marking a shift from romance to a New Adult fantasy realm filled with dragons, battles, and self-discovery​.

Book 2 of the Empyrean series, “Iron Flame” is soon to be released!

Thesis Statement

“Fourth Wing” explores the challenges of overcoming physical limitations and societal expectations through a captivating narrative enriched with mystical creatures and a complex, war-torn setting.

Suggested Reading Age

Due to violent content and implied ableism, a mature audience is suggested.

List of Characters

  • Violet Sorrengail: The protagonist, battling against physical frailty to prove her worth in a militaristic society.
  • General Sorrengail: Violet’s mother, a stern military leader.
  • Dain Aetos: A childhood friend and ally of Violet.
  • Xaden Riorson: A high-ranking cadet with a complex relationship with Violet.
  • Mira Sorrengail: Violet’s supportive sister and a skilled dragon rider.

If purchasing the book, please do consider purchasing from as they provide support to independent bookstores.


Summary of the Plot

Violet’s tale begins on Conscription Day, marking her forced entry into a ruthless training program aimed at nurturing dragon riders. Despite her physical frailty, Violet’s intellect shines, aiding her survival in a cutthroat environment. The narrative intricately unfolds Violet’s relationships, fears, and the overarching war that continually tests her resolve. A series of challenges, betrayals, and unexpected alliances lead Violet to become the first rider with two bonded dragons, propelling her into a destiny intertwined with political intrigue and the heartbeats of dragons​1​.

Important Themes

  • Overcoming Physical Limitations
  • Self-acceptance and Self-worth
  • The Brutality of War
Artist Rendition of Fourth Wing

Artist Rendition of Fourth Wing


Strengths and Weaknesses

The narrative excels in portraying a vivid fantasy world, yet may fall short in exploring the depth of secondary characters.

What Makes the Book Unique

The blend of military rigor and mystical dragon lore sets a distinctive backdrop for Violet’s journey of self-discovery.

Use of Literary Devices

The narrative employs symbolism, foreshadowing, and irony to enrich the plot and character dynamics.

Relation to the Author’s Life

Yarros’ background as a military spouse resonates through the militaristic setting and the character’s struggles, adding a layer of authenticity to the narrative​1​.



Who Would Enjoy This Book

Fans of fantasy, dragon lore, and strong female protagonists will find “Fourth Wing” a thrilling read.

Comparison to Other Works

“Fourth Wing” can be compared to other fantasy novels like “Eragon” by Christopher Paolini, yet it carves its unique niche through a mature narrative and complex character relationships.

Final Thoughts and Recommendation

“Fourth Wing” is a commendable foray into fantasy by Rebecca Yarros, offering a narrative rich in character development, mystical lore, and the stark realities of war.


Functional Details

  • ISBN: (To be filled)
  • Number of Pages: (To be filled)
  • Publisher Name: (To be filled)
  • First Publish Date: April 5, 2023
  • Adaptations: (To be filled)
  • Genre: New Adult Fantasy
  • BISAC Categories: (To be filled)
  • Suggested Reading Age: Mature due to violent content.


Awards and Accolades

“Fourth Wing” soared to the top of Amazon’s bestseller list and garnered a substantial following on BookTok, a testament to its captivating narrative and well-etched characters​4​. It was also a NY Times Best Seller


About the Author

Rebecca Yarros, a USA Today Bestselling author, transitions smoothly from romance to fantasy with “Fourth Wing,” showcasing her versatile storytelling prowess.


Other reviews you may find helpful

Where to Buy the Book

Is This Book Part of a Series?

Yes, “Fourth Wing” is the inaugural novel in “The Empyrean” series, setting a strong foundation for the saga that unfolds as the war escalates and Violet’s destiny intertwines with that of Navarre’s fate.